Warning: Illegal string offset 'side_text' in /var/sites/s/spindlemagazine.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/spindle2018/content-single.php on line 7

Music Video Monday: MVA Special

Monday 24 October 2016

This year’s UK Music Video Awards, which took place at the Roundhouse last Thursday (20th October), was a celebration of the most innovative videos created this year for some of the world's most exciting artists.

Winner of Video of the Year was Romain Gavras’ visionary video for ‘Gosh’ by Jamie xx. The video features complex, stunning cinematography, has a cast of 400 people with bleached blonde hair, and was filmed in Tianducheng, a Chinese city modelled on Paris, complete with a replica Eiffel Tower. Gavra’s video also took the award for Best UK Alternative Video.

The Chemical Brother’s ‘Wide Open,’ featuring Beck and directed by Dom & Nic, also won multiple awards, including Best UK Dance Video and Best VFX In A Video. Best Director went to Ninian Doff, with his videos for Miike Snow’s ‘Genghis Khan’ winning Best International Pop Video and Best Cinematography In A Video, and Run The Jewel’s ‘Love Again’ winning Best International Urban Video and Best Editing In A Video.

Best UK Pop Video went to Hiro Mural’s work for Michael Kiwanuka’s ‘Black Man in a White World,’ which follows a man dancing in the streets. The video also reminds us of the song’s serious message, with cars colliding beside the dancer in the street, and beautiful black and white cinematography featuring an aerial shot of the man falling to the streets below him.

Vania Heymann and Gal Muggia’s video for ‘Up & Up’ by Coldplay won Best UK Rock/Indie Video, and Tame Impala’s ‘The Less I Know the Better,’ directed by Canada, won Best International Rock/Indie Video. Also among the winners were the late David Bowie’s ‘Blackstar,’ Beyonce’s ‘Formation,’ and Florence and the Machine’s ‘Delilah.’

Upcoming British artists Will Joseph Cook, Nao and Honeyblood all received awards for their videos, and Best New Director went to Oscar Hudson, was has directed for Darwin Deez and Gilligan Moss. The Icon Award was presented to Vaughan Arnell, who has worked with some of the biggest names in pop music.

View a full list of winners here.