Music |

Spindle Selects: Tracks of the Week

Thursday 16 March 2017

The best new releases that have been soundtracking our week.

Dream Wife – ‘Somebody’

Icelandic and British trio Dream Wife (also the best band name we’ve heard for a while) are back with new single ‘Somebody’. Released on International Women’s Day, the punk-infused rock’n’roll anthem was released as “a ballad for women”. ‘I am not my body, I’m somebody’ sings Rakel Mjöll in a war-cry worthy of everyone’s time and attention, male or female.

Alex Ross – ‘Dreams’

The debut single from Alex Ross features rising star Dakota, who most recently loaned her vocals to the Jonas Blue smash ‘Fast Car’, and American rapper T-Pain, collaborating to transform a classic 90’s hit ‘Dreams’. Newcomer Ross has been responsible for some of the biggest official remixes of the last few years having turned his hands to One Republic’s ‘Kids’, Craig David’s ‘One More Time’, and ‘False Alarm’ by Matoma & Becky Hill. We can see this being a smash throughout clubland and the festival season, here to soundtrack your summer 2017.

Russ – ‘Ain’t Nobody Takin’ My Baby’ 

The American singer, rapper and songwriter has created huge waves with his current string of infectious R&B and Hip-Hop single releases. ‘Ain’t Nobody Takin’ My Baby’ official video directed by Edgar Esteves continues the high quality content following Russ around the city as he candidly sings about a relationship that’s on the rocks.

Mabel Ft Kojo Funds – ‘Finders Keepers’

Mabel finally releases brand new material in the form of bouncy R&B and dancehall influenced track ‘Finders Keepers’ which features another London based artist Kojo Funds. The new track comes from her forthcoming debut EP ‘Bedroom’ which is set for release later this year.

Charli XCX Ft Starrah & Raye – ‘Dreamer’

Last week Charli XCX released her new mixtape ‘Number 1 Angel’, which includes the punchy electro track ‘Dreamer’. The mixtape is a release ahead of her upcoming album which is due to be out in September. If you needed a couple new tracks to listen to before a big night out, this mixtape is one for you!

Slothrust – ‘Sleepeater’

Since the band’s 2012 debut ‘Feels Your Pain’ Slothrust have been crafting their unique strain of jazz and blues-afflicted rock that has established them as a band unlike any other and ‘Everyone Else’ is a clear representation of Slothrust’s progression. The band’s forthcoming LP delivers ten riveting anthems that reward repeated listens, drawing heavily from their love of 90s grunge as much as their learnings in jazz and blues. The album ‘Everyone Else’ is released on April 28th

Louisa Johnson – ‘Best Behaviour’

Louisa Johnson returns with her first track for 2017 ‘Best Behaviour.’ The song is sultry, mixed with intense heightened energy. ‘Best Behaviour’ is full of warm melodies and beats, and when mixed with Johnson’s calming vocals, the track could easily be one of summer’s biggest hits.

Nicki Minaj – ‘Regret In Your Tears’

Nicki Minaj surprised us with the release of three new tracks last week, ‘Changed It’ ‘No Frauds’ and the honest ‘Regret In Your Tears.’ ‘Regret In Your Tears’ continues where ‘The Pinkprint’ left off. A mature love ballad Minaj tells all in this vulnerable track about her recent break up with rapper Meek Mill. Minaj’s vocals are raw, sweet, and expose another side of the rapper that leave us wanting more.

Frank Ocean – ‘Chanel’

After releasing a visual album, and studio album in 2016 it would be a while before Frank Ocean released new music, but last week Ocean surprised listeners with ‘Chanel.’ ‘Chanel’ is blunt, but told in a calming way. Ocean openly speaks about his relationships and love life. This, combined with the song’s blissful piano chords, light percussion, and Ocean’s endearing melodies create something sublime.

Desperate Journalist – ‘Be Kind’
Driving post-punk, with a hint of Britpop thrown in for good measure – in a totally amazing way – from the London-based four piece. Like a cross between Sleeper and/or Savages (depending on your preference) with a smattering of The Smiths, this is instantly melodic but ferocious all at once. Taken from their new album ‘Grow Up’ released on the 24th March and certainly one to look out for.