Warning: Illegal string offset 'side_text' in /var/sites/s/spindlemagazine.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/spindle2018/content-single.php on line 7
Music |

Spindle Selects: Tracks of the Week

Thursday 28 September 2017

Warning: Illegal string offset 'show_author' in /var/sites/s/spindlemagazine.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/spindle2018/content-single.php on line 47

The best new music to gear you into October.

Youngr – ‘What’s Next’

The prince of modern electro-pop has unveiled new single ‘What’s Next’. It’s an infectious slice of effervescent pop genius, centred about the pressure of ‘what next’ and how that’s a load of rubbish, tbh. The multi-talented musician produced the track himself, with Asia Whiteace joining on songwriting duties (Nile Rodgers, Hailee Steinfeld, Zedd). Youngr plays Heaven on 6th October, and something tells us it’s not to be missed.

Anne-Marie -‘Heavy’

Anne Marie is back with new single ‘Heavy’, which comes with a heavy list of producers; Invisible Men, who’ve worked with Zayn Malik, Nana Rogues, who’s worked with Drake, and the ever-golden MNEK. The resulting song is an effortless island-pop bop, and feels like an appropriate step-up for the singer following her major collaboration with Snakehips.

The Horrors – ‘Hologram’

Opening track from The Horrors fifth album ‘V,’ ‘Hologram’ is a swirl of Gary Numan-esque synths, thunderous drums and Faris Badwan’s almost dream-like vocal delivery. With producer Paul Epworth at the helm and a new record label behind them, The Horrors have once again pushed themselves in to new realms and ‘V’ is easily their best record since second album ‘Primary Colours.’

ROE – ‘Playground Fights’

ROE is the moniker of 18-year-old Roisin Donald, a rising singer/songwriting talent from Derry, who’s already managed to make a huge splash far beyond her local borders. Making a bold entrance with the delicate ‘Playground Fights’, ROE is set to carve her own lane as electronic pop’s newest frontrunner. This track is just the beginning of what is set to be a landmark year for the newcomer, firmly positioning her as one of music’s brightest new hopefuls.

SWOON – ‘Teeth’

Teeth is the emphatic debut single by Brighton-based electronic pop four-piece Swoon, comprised of members Alice Guala, Ferg Griffin, Chris Lelliott and Adam Macaulay.  The track mixes minimalist production with intense percussion and anxious rising synths to create a compelling composition with an airy swagger and tribal-like atmosphere. An ominous pulsating bass acts as the song’s backbone alongside dissonant lingering keyboard fills and miniscule moments of silence to provide a tense undertone, before culminating in an almighty rise in volume and cathartic release at its stunning climax.

Deva Mahal- ‘Run Deep’

Deva Mahal, daughter of Taj Mahal, finally released her first single, ‘Run Deep’- the moment we’ve all been waiting for. Getting to play music all her life with her dad as a coach, Mahal strikes with a perfect single. She delivers incredible vocals on the record with a chorus containing heavy drums and a soulful bass. She even breaks out into rap! This song incorporates many genres, making it an appealing tune for everyone.

Tiggs Da Author- ‘Work it Out’

The official music video for ‘Work It Out’ is finally here and if you are a Chris Martin fan, it’s worth checking out. Martin has a funny cameo in the video, which shows him singing on a magazine cover back to Author. The single is energetic, catchy, and also has a twist. The beat throughout the song is that of Casers’ ‘Jerk It Out’ which Author uses with his own unique spin of pop and rap vocals mixed in.

Jhene Aiko – ‘While We Were Young’

Aiko’s new single is a beautiful love song and her new music video really shows it. Directed by Jay Ahn, the video embodies ’50 First Dates’ with Jhene Aiko taking the role of someone suffering from short-term memory loss. The song captures what it is like to be young and in love and the beat is very soft yet catchy. Check it out!

Walk The Moon – ‘One Foot’

Walk the Moon is finally back from their hiatus with a high-energy new single. ‘One Foot’ is our first taste of what we can expect from their fourth studio album, due out soon. The guitar and keyboard produce a catchy rhythm with a chorus to match. Tribal chants and disco beats are what you can expect from this new record, making it a fun new track.

Macklemore – ‘Good Old Day’ ft. Kesha

Macklemore’s highly anticipated album has finally dropped. One of the featured singles being ‘Good Old Days’. Kesha belts out beautiful melodies for the chorus making this record a hit new single. The song produces a nostalgic feeling and sends the message of the importance of living in the moment. ‘Gemini’ is Macklemore’s first solo project since 2005 that features many collaborations.

R I T U A L Ft 6lack – ‘Drown The Lovers’

After R I T U A L covered 6lack’s ‘LOYAL’, the Atlanta rapper returned the favour by taking his spin on the London based band’s poignant track ‘Drown The Lovers’, the track gets a whole lot deeper.

Rich The Kid Ft Kendrick Lamar – ‘New Freezer’

After much speculation on a collab between the two rappers since Rich’s Instagram post of him and Kendrick in studio earlier this year – which was deleted. The new track has now finally been released, premiering on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show the other day.

Billy Lockett – ‘Who I Am’

Singer / songwriter Billy returns with his 3rd release of 2017, with an intimate and acutely personal new song ‘WHO I AM’. The track is an ode to ‘constantly comparing myself to others’ Billy quotes, and the narrative is shaped around ‘how you should only focus on yourself’. Billy’s lyrics are relatable and honest, with a vocal that is instantly recognisable. A beautiful, falsetto infused anthem that is full of emotion.