Spindle Selects: Tracks of the Week

Friday 05 October 2018

Ariana and the RoseLonely Star

The first slice of new music from the Spindle fave does not disappoint. ‘Lonely Star’ follows Ariana and the Rose’s debut Retrograde EP, and is a taster from a forthcoming EP. It’s been an incredible 2018 for pop’s cosmic princess, following on from the launch of her light + space immersive disco launch in the US, as well as summer festival appearances at Latitude, Lovebox and Brighton Pride.

Jessie Ware – Overtime 

Dropping her single ‘Overtime’ on Annie Mac’s Radio 1 show, Jessie Ware brings us her latest release since Glasshouse. Deciding “to go back into dance world”, Jessie’s latest track features her silky-smooth vocals over a heavy beat. Co-produced by Andy Ferguson and Matt McBriar of Bicep and James Ford, ‘Overtime’ is fun, feminine and flirtatious. If this really is a “taste of what’s to come” then we cannot wait!


DJ/producer KINGDM and breakout artist Reo Cragun have teamed up once more on new single ‘Dust’ and it does not disappoint. With pulsating beats alongside urban melodies, the track tells the all too familiar tale of a love that has died. KINGDM has racked up nearly 10 million streams on his collection thus far and has been championed by Zane Lowe and Annie Mac. Reo Cragun, on the other hand, is fresh off a tour with certified platinum artist Billie Eilish.


MYKL – also known as Make You Know Love – release their stunning debut single ‘Vitamin’ today. The infectiously upbeat self-written and produced track is influenced by a mix of RnB, indie, synth and 80s pop. MYKL is all about diverse sounds from a well-defined sonic palette, which is evident throughout the new track. Also, worth knowing that MYKL are the guys behind Zayn’s huge single ‘PILLOWTALK’ and a few of Zayn’s tracks of his first album Mind Of Mine!

Sigrid Sucker Punch

The BBC’s Sound of 2018 is back in pop banger mode. Sigrid’s latest single ‘Sucker Punch’ follows from the critically acclaimed EP Raw and is a vibrant pop song, with a catchy and forceful chorus. Turn this song up loud and reminisce about the summer vibes as winter approaches.

Charlie XCX and Troye Sivan1999

Two of the biggest names in pop music right now have released their debut collab ‘1999’. Tapping into the turn of millennium energy, Charlie XCX and Troye Sivan’s nostalgia filled track references Britney Spears and Slim Shady. This is time capsule pop at its finest.

Jonas Blue, Liam Payne and Lennon StellaPolaroid

Their debut collab, Jonas Blue, Liam Payne and Lennon Stella release ‘Polaroid’. The track slice of RnB pop and features an uplifting chorus and alluring groovy beat. This pop ballad is destined to be a success!

Clean Cut Kid – Slow Progress

‘Slow Progress’ is a development on the new, raucous sound showcased in ‘Emily’, with heavily distorted guitar riffs and fuzzy bass lines. It goes to show that Clean Cut Kid have really evolved as musicians with upcoming sophomore EP Painkiller set to drop on the October 22.

Young Futura – Wallflower

‘Wallflower’ is an uninhibited cocktail of grooving disco and futuristic hip hop from the multi-national duo Young Futura. Young Futura boast a multi-platinum track record, including previous work with 50 Cent, GZA, Kylie Minogue, OK GO and Trey Songz. ‘Wallflower’ is the simmering introduction to what looks to be a promising new blend of talents.

Anderson .Paak Tints feat. Kendrick Lamar

Anderson .Paak and Kendrick Lamar unveiled their eagerly anticipated collaboration, ‘Tints’, which showcases .Paak’s trademark jazzy, raspy voice, and has an energy-loaded, funky bassline. The track was debuted as Zane Low’s ‘World Record’ on Beats 1 yesterday and is the first track to be released from .Paak’s forthcoming album Oxnard.

You Me at SixStraight to My Head

Releasing their sixth studio album, You Me At Six dropped their eagerly anticipated album VI, produced by Dan Austin. The stadium rocker, ‘Straight To My Head’, is the urgent lover’s plea and demonstrates the sleek pop production and direction of their latest album.

Tom OdellYou’re Gonna Break My Heart Tonight

Ahead of his UK tour, Tom Odell has released yet another track from his forthcoming album Jubilee Road. In classic Tom Odell style, ‘You’re Gonna Break My Heart Tonight’ features mellow piano and is an emotional and heart-catching ballad.

New Arcades – Hideaway

Synth-wave duo New Arcades have followed up this year’s Nothing Is Lost EP with the cinematic slow burner ‘Hideaway’. Though at first an immersive wash of brooding synths and restrained drums, ‘Hideaway’ unfolds to reach an emphatic climax of emotion that proves New Arcades to be another rising duo to watch.

Fickle FriendsThe Moment

Fresh from launching their own record label Palmeira Music and dropping their debut album You Are Someone Else, the band have released their three-track EP Broken Sleep. The 80s tinged pop track ‘The Moment’ is sure to get your party started this weekend.

Matt CorbyAll That I See

Following the immensely popular ‘All Fired Up’ Matt Corby has released another track from his forthcoming album Rainbow Valley. The latest ballad ‘All That I See’ demonstrates Matt Corby’s thoughtful and pensive lyricism. We can’t wait for the release of his album!

Kim Petras – Turn Off The Light (feat. Elvira, Mistress of the Dark)

Kim Petras is moving into October with a collection of bloodthirsty beats in her ‘Turn Off The Light Vol.1’ Halloween themed mixtape. Title track ‘Turn Off The Light’ is a spellbinding blend of synths, encompassing a spooky spoken word verse from Elvira that Petras describes as “inspired by Britney’s Blackout era and ‘Monster Mash’”.

Lily MooreI Know I Wanna Be With You

Lily Moore can sing, and there’s no denying it. Her latest track ‘I Know I Wanna Be With You’, from her I Will Never Be EP, builds to a crescendo, with her soulful and expressive vocals taking centre stage. This is the perfect song for your Sunday stroll.